Types of special types of Rom memories

Read only memory is a type of memory that allows a user only to read or retrieve data from it using drives however, special types of ROM allow editing of data that has been stored on it. 

Also read: types of computers

Depending on permanence of the instructions or data written on it. There are four types of read only memory namely: 

  1. Mask read only memory. (MROM)
  2. Programable read only memory. (PROM)
  3. Erasable programable read only memory.(EPROM)
  4. Electrically erasable programable read only memory. (EEPROM)
  • M-ROM 

This is a type ROM that allows writing of contents on it only once and the data can not be changed once written. 

  • PROM 

PROM allows the user to alter its contents only once after the data has been written on it.


This type of ROM allows erasing of its contents by exposing it to ultra violet (UV) light and then reprogrammed using the same type of technology.


It allows erasing and reprogramming using electricity. An example of EEPROM is the BIOS. 


Tech Writer: I write gadget reviews and tech news

Tagged with: ,
Posted in computer hardware, computer lessons

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: